December Update

COFES 2013
  April 24 thru April 27, 2014 Scottsdale, Arizona

  COFES Late Registration begins January 1st

If you haven't done so already, be sure to register by the end of this month!

Save $400 by registering by Tuesday, December 31st!

Go register at:

If you do not have your personal invitation code, call us at +1-301-365-9085, or visit to apply for an invitation.

  Paul Saffo to give Friday Keynote at COFES 2014

Paul Saffo is a technology forecaster with over two decades of experience helping corporate and governmental clients understand and respond to the dynamics of large-scale, long-term change. He is managing director of foresight at Discern Analytics and teaches technology forecasting at Stanford where he is a consulting associate professor in the Engineering School. Saffo also teaches at Singularity University, where he chairs the Future Studies track. Paul holds degrees from Harvard College, Cambridge University, and Stanford University.

Paul's keynote will set the stage for this year's discussion. This year’s theme for COFES is “Correcting 2020 Vision.” With 2020 just six years ahead, what corrections does a firm need to make to its own vision to get a crisper view of 2020?

Paul Saffo’s keynote, Cultivating Foresight: Seeing Clearly Amidst Exponential Change addresses the theme looking forward. Paul will address the fallacies of our natural instincts for thinking about the future and focus on ways of thinking that can provide a clearer foresight for long-term planning.

  George Dyson to give Saturday Keynote at COFES 2014

George Dyson is an author and science historian. His writings detail the history of computing, the development of algorithms and intelligence, communication systems, space exploration, and the design of water craft. As a popular lecturer, Dyson provides a historical context to the evolution of technology and thought-provoking ideas on the future direction of technology and the Internet. His most recent book, “Turing’s Cathedral” is a masterful look at the dawn of the computers, illuminating the people, machines, and codes behind the transition from numbers that mean things to numbers that do things in the aftermath of World War II.

George addresses the theme for COFES looking backward, at historical precedent, in his keynote, “2020 Vision: Why the Technology of Prediction keeps getting better while the Prediction of Technology lags behind.” His keynote will explore insights drawn from historical attempts to predicting where technology will be at some future point in time.

  Call for Roundtable Topics Requests

Roundtable discussions are a key element to COFES. We don't announce the topics until about two weeks before the event. That gives us time to consider the topics that are relevant at the time of COFES (rather than guessing a year in advance).

Have a topic you think is relevant? A pressing issue that could impact software design and engineering within the next six years? We're actively seeking ideas for roundtable topics for COFES 2014. Give us a shout at

Check out or the COFES App to listen to the roundtables from COFES 2013 and prior years.

  The CAD Society is accepting award nominations

The CAD Society is accepting nominations for the 2014 CAD Society Industry Awards.

The CAD Society Awards acknowledge the contributions made by individuals that have affected and developed the CAD, engineering, manufacturing and architecture software industries. The awards are presented each year at the COFES Saturday night reception.

The CAD Society presents awards in three categories:

Joe Greco Community Award: For outstanding work in improving communication and developing community within the CAD industry. Marie Planchard was the 2013 Community award recipient. Other past award recipients include: Jeff Mottle, Evan Yares, Sean Dotson, Chris Yessios, Lynn Allen, Randall Rath, CJ Shirk, Kristine Fallon, and Ralph Grabowski.

Leadership Award: For outstanding technical and business leadership in the CAD industry, and focus and dedication to the needs of CAD users. Wilfried Gräbert was the 2013 Leadership award recipient. Other past award recipients include: Oleg Shilovitsky, Dieter Neujahr, Carl Bass, Jay Sunyogh, Dana K. “Deke” Smith, Robert McNeel, Tony Affuso, Tom Butta, Jon Hirschtick, and Bernard Charles.

Lifetime Award: For a lifetime of outstanding technical and business contributions to the CAD industry. David Levin was the 2013 Lifetime award recipient. Other past award recipients include: Ken & BJ Anderson, Dave Weisberg, Richard Riff, Mike Riddle, Dean Kamen, Russell F. Henke, Ken Versprille, L. Stephen Wolfe, Carl Machover, Dr. Joel Orr, and Patrick Hanratty.

Nominations must identify the award category and explain why the nominee deserves to be honored. Email nominations can be sent to . Video nominations are also acceptable, but must be posted to YouTube with the keywords ‘CAD Society’, along with a link sent by email to

All nominations need to be received by February 1, 2014, for consideration by the CAD Society.

  Copyright © 2013 Cyon Research Corporation . All Rights Reserved.